Friday, June 2, 2017

Equatorial Guinea Campaigns for Non-Permanent Seat on the United Nations Security Council

The government of Equatorial Guinea continues to push for the non-permanent seat on the United Nations (UN) Security Council today as UN members gather at the General Assembly in New York.

Prime Minister of the Government, Charged with Administrative Coordination, Francisco Pascual Obama Asue and Deputy Minister for Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, Salomón Nfa Ndong have been campaigning and holding bilateral meetings throughout the week leading up to today’s elections.

Throughout the campaign, Equatorial Guinea has been promoting the major transformations the country has undergone over the past two decades. It has emerged as a model of peace, stability and rapid economic development on Africa. At the same time, Equatorial Guinea actively participates in regional and international affairs. The West African nation has hosted two African Union Summits, the South America-Africa Summit, the 4th Annual Arab-Africa Summit, the Turkey-Africa Summit, the Ebola Donor Conference and numerous other important international conferences.

Equatorial Guinea has achieved significant milestones in literacy, healthcare services, education and infrastructure development. It has also made significant contributions to pan-African initiatives such as a $30 million contribution to the Trust Fund for Food Security in Africa, $2 millon in annual support to the UNESCO-Equatorial Guinea Prize for The Life Sciences, $3 million in support of the response to the Ebola pandemic, as well as emergency aid for several countries that have suffered natural disasters.

As a member of the Security Council, the Government of Equatorial Guinea will devote all possible efforts and resources to support the work of the UN for sustainable peace and development for all UN members throughout the world.

The candidacy of Equatorial Guinea for a non-permanent seat on the United Nations (UN) Security Council for the 2018-2019 period was endorsed by the African Union during the 2015 Summit of Heads of State in Johannesburg.