Monday, June 5, 2017

Equatorial Guinea to Join UN Security Council After Historic Vote

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea will join the United Nations (UN) Security Council, after receiving 185 votes to achieve a non-permanent seat last week.

Equatorial Guinea will be representing Africa, along with Ivory Coast, while Peru will represent Latin America and the Caribbean, Kuwait for Asia, and Poland for Eastern Europe.

The UN Security Council consists of five permanent members – China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States – and ten non-permanent members elected every two years.

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea Prime Minister, Francisco Pasual Obama Asue, thanked the nations who voted for Equatorial Guinea and promised to work in partnership with the other elected members to work for the benefit of peace so the UN development objectives can be achieved.

Equatorial Guinea will take their seat in 2018 for the two-year period 2018-2019.