Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Equatorial Guinea Active in the Community of Portuguese Language Countries

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is active in the Community of Portuguese Language Countries (CPLP), with the closing of the VII Parliamentary Assembly of the CPLP this year and the upcoming Summit of Ministers of Telecommunications of the CPLP, which Equatorial Guinea is set to host in 2018.

The President of the Lower House of Parliament of Equatorial Guinea, Gaudencio Mohaba Mesu, represented Equatorial Guinea at the VII Parliamentary Assembly this week.

Equatorial Guinea is proud to be a member of the CPLP, and thanked the organization for the presence of observers during the last legislative and municipal elections in Equatorial Guinea, who verified civic responsibility, transparency, and massive participation, along with a deep respect for international democratic procedures.

Equatorial Guinea is committed to the continued process of democratization and the maintenance of peace and stability.

Additionally, the Minister of Telecommunications and New Technologies of the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, Maximiliano Martín Meko Abeme, hosted a meeting in Portugal this week to discuss the preparations for the upcoming Summit of Ministers of Telecommunications.

The Minister highlighted the importance of international strategies to develop the digital economy, as well as the improvement of the administration and adoption of digital solutions for an efficient public service sector.

Equatorial Guinea is set to host the Summit of Ministers of the CPLP in 2018.

Equatorial Guinea joined the CPLP in 2014, joining the members Angola, Brazil, Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Mozambique, Portugal, São Tomé and Príncipe and East Timor.

Equatorial Guinea was the sixth African country to join the CPLC, which was founded in 1996 and now has nine member countries. The organization aims to promote cooperation among the member countries. Equatorial Guinea was an observer from 2006 to 2014. Portuguese has become the third official language of the country, following Spanish and French.