Friday, July 27, 2018

Equatorial Guinea Announces Opening Date of South-South Cooperation Office

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea, through its Ambassador to the European Union (EU), Carmelo Nvono-Ncá, announced the opening of the South-South and Triangular Cooperation Office in Malabo on 10 October as part of the country’s 50th anniversary of independence.

The opening will include a panel on international politics with high-level international officials from government and non-governmental bodies, including the United Nations (UN), EU, African Union (AU), and the government of Equatorial Guinea.

Equatorial Guinea continues to be a focal point for international and African cooperation and business as it prepares to welcome offices for South-South Cooperation and the African, Caribbean, and Pacific (ACP) Group in the country’s capital Malabo.

Equatorial Guinea has hosted these and other such international organizations in the past.

The office is fully equipped for ACP and South-South Cooperation meetings and operations, including a local staff offered by the Government of Equatorial Guinea. The office is set to be the headquarters of the exchange of information and key solutions for the development of the ACP and South-South Cooperation.

The UN established South-South Cooperation to promote trade and collaboration between developing countries, mainly African, Asian, and South American countries.

Similarly, the ACP is focused on sustainable development and poverty reduction of its member states, which include 79 countries over three continents.