Thursday, August 2, 2018

Equatorial Guinea Continues Investment in Public Health Services, Malaria Eradication

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea, through its Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, continued its investment in public health services and Malaria eradication.

In 1989, Equatorial Guinea created the National Program to Fight Malaria under the direction of the President of Equatorial Guinea, HE Obiang Nguema Mbasogo.

Equatorial Guinea has made great strides since the creation of the Program, including undergoing clinical trials on the vaccine to treat Malaria, and numerous annual eradication efforts such as spraying key areas and distributing medical supplies.

Equatorial Guinea is set to undergo the third clinical trials of the vaccine to evaluate safety and tolerance as well as create a research center to study the impact of Malaria.

Equatorial Guinea recently launched Africa Vaccination Week, in partnership with the World Health Organization (WHO) and the United Nations Children’s Fund (UNICEF).

Equatorial Guinea highlighted the Vaccination Week is an opportunity to focus on joint efforts with the United Nations (UN) to guarantee the quality and performance of the Extended Immunization Program.

Equatorial Guinea is one of the few countries in Africa that purchases vaccines under the Extended Immunization Program using its own funds.

Equatorial Guinea has highlighted public health as an area of focus under the country’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

Equatorial Guinea’s Ministry of Health and Social Welfare, Ministry of the Interior, and Ministry of Education and Information, recently launched the 15th phase of the national Polio vaccination campaign and the National Malaria Control Program. The Program donated more than 175,000 mosquito nets across the country along with prevention supplies and sprayed houses in Malabo and other areas.

Equatorial Guinea has achieved high levels of protection against Malaria in clinical trials of a new vaccine. Equatorial Guinea is one of several African countries to hold clinical trials, including Tanzania, Kenya, Mali, and Burkina Faso, as well as Germany and the U.S.